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UST & SkimUSA Priority & Interference Rule

Priority & Interference

The priority system exists to provide a level playing field for competitors and to avoid potential conflict
through clear and simple communication with the riders in the hopes of avoiding conflicts before they
occur.

1. Priority Rule: Right of Way

The skimboarder with priority has the unconditional right of way to catch any wave they choose, provided
they make a reasonable attempt to indicate intent to ride the wave. Other skimboarders in the heat can run
for, and catch, the same wave, but only if they don’t obstruct or hinder the scoring potential of the
skimboarder with priority. At the start of the heat once the first wave has been ridden, the remaining
skimboarder(s) on the slope automatically get priority. A skimboarder loses priority once they catch a wave
or initiate running for a wave. If two or more skimboarders catch a wave at the same time, those two
skimboarders shall retain the same priority they had before that ride.

In three or four man heats the first skimboarder to catch a wave takes last priority and the remaining

skimboarders have priority over that skimboarder. The remaining skimboarders move into the bottom
position in the order that they run for their first wave.

2. Other Priority Rules: Abuse of Priority

The Priority Skimboarder will lose priority if in the opinion of the Lead Priority Judge or the Secondary
Priority Judge they:

a. Initiate running for a wave.

b. Stand in front of the non-priority skimboarder deliberately to impede them from catching a
wave.

c. Position themselves in the running zone to prevent another skimboarder from catching a
wave.

d. Use their priority by either using positioning or running for a wave to block their opponent
when the skimboarder with priority appears to have had no intention to score.

e. Indicate that they are going for a wave, verbally, physically or otherwise, and then do not go
for the wave.

f.  Use their priority to obstruct and/or hinder their opponent who is already riding towards or on
a wave that they had not made any obvious movement or attempt to get and the under
priority rider is not reasonably able to divert out of the way of the priority rider.

For example: Red has priority and yellow is second on the priority list. A far-out wave is
approaching red makes no obvious gesture or movement (skimboard up in ready position,
movement into position for the wave, no verbal signal to fellow opponents) that they are
interested in the wave, so yellow goes. As yellow slides way out and turns on the wave red sees
and realizes the potential of the wave, so red goes. As yellow rides the wave back in red cuts in
front of yellow obstructing and hindering yellow’s ride. Red cannot be called for interference since
red has priority, but due to Red’s lack of clear communication regarding the wave, yellow shall not
incur a interference penalty and Red shall move to the lowest priority position following the ride.
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3. Abuse of Priority Penalty

If a priority skimboarder is found to have egregiously abused priority in an apparent attempt to draw an
interference with no apparent goal to generate a score from the wave, the skimboarder will receive a
Priority Abuse Penalty. A rider who receives a Priority Abuse Penalty will have their third highest wave
(fifth highest wave for AM) from the heat dropped (count as zero points), but the rider will still have three
(five for amateur) scoring rides (I.E. Their scoreline will include their first, second, and fourth highest
scoring rides from the heat and for AM it will include first, second, third, fourth, and sixth highest wave).
After a Priority Abuse Penalty, the rider who received the penalty will drop to the bottom of the priority
queue. An abuse of priority penalty can be called only if all of the following criteria are met:
a. Therider without priority made a clear and reasonable attempt to understand the intent of
the rider with priority.
b. The rider with priority did NOT make a reasonable attempt to indicate intent to ride the
wave either verbally or by picking up their board before running.
c. Therider with priority rode the wave in such a way that the rider without priority was forced
to interfere.

4. Interference:

A skimboarder who hinders the scoring potential of the skimboarder with priority over them will be given
an interference penalty.
a. A skimboarder can be called for interference if in the opinion of the Lead Priority Judge
and/or Secondary Priority Judge they:

i. Cross the running or riding path of an opponent who had Priority, hindering or
obstructing their score or timing in any way (crossing the running path of a priority
rider within 10 feet in front of them is an automatic penalty). Priority holders shall
have free reign to ride the wave how they best see fit without any interference from
competitors including from competitors wake or spray or run. Stay out of the way
of rider’s who hold priority over you.

ii. Intentionally block the pathway of their opponent so that they cannot run or get into
position for the wave.

iii. Stand in the pathway of an opponent who is already running for a wave causing them
to have to redirect their running path or have to stop running altogether.

iv. Abuse priority as stated in the Other Priority Rules: Abuse of Priority segment of this
rule book.

5. Interference Penalty

a. For priority situations when an interference is called on a skimboarder, then the skimboarder
shall lose the top counting wave for the heat and shall be judged on their lowest two wave
scores in the heat rather than three (or four for amateur).

b. When an interference is called on a skimboarder when running or riding a wave, the ride will
be scored zero.

c. Any interfering skimboarder must be penalized and once an interference decision is made, it
is irrevocable. The Lead Priority Judge, the Secondary Priority Judge, and/or any scoring
judge will not enter into any discussion over the interference call.

d. Where any skimboarder incurs two interferences within a single heat they must immediately
leave the Competition Area.
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6. Minor Interference Penalty

a. For a situation in which an interference is called but it is clear to the Priority Judge(s) that the
interfering rider made all reasonable attempts to avoid interfering but nevertheless did
interfere, the priority judge may at their sole discretion substitute the standard penalty with a
Minor Interference Penalty. When a Minor Penalty is called, the interfering rider will lose their
highest scoring ride of the heat but will still be judged on the regular three wave total wave
count, rather than two (five wave total for amateur).

b. The interfering ride shall still be scored as a zero in the case of a Minor Interference Penalty.

7. Additional Clarifications

a. Priority is decided by order of rides/whoever went last, not by who gets back to the top of the
slope first.

b. The rider with priority can drop to the bottom of priority queue once they initiate running/deter
other rider (or riders) from running by blocking, etc. (This may be as little as a single running
step). Initiating a run may be as little as a single running step or even a head fake or board
fake if that movement deters the other rider from running.

c. If two riders go for the same wave, the rider without priority must not cross paths of the rider
with priority, on the sand or in the water. If rider without priority crosses within 10 feet then it's
an automatic minor penalty.

d. The act of simply picking up your board and walking laterally is not a cause for loss of priority
for the priority skimmer. There has to be full physical and/or verbal intent (this will be at the
discretion of the Priority Judge).

e. Rule Clarifications for priority:

i. The rider without priority must make a clear and reasonable attempt to understand
the intent of the rider with priority.

ii. The rider with priority did NOT make a reasonable attempt to indicate intent to ride
the wave either verbally or by picking up their board before running.

iii. The rider with priority rode in such a way that the rider without priority was forced to
interfere.

8. Competitor Protest

If a rider feels that another rider interfered with them, they may protest to the Priority Judge at that time or
immediately after the heat. The Priority Judge(s) will decide whether or not the situation warrants an
interference call and relay their decision to the tabulating staff.

Interference penalties are designed to be harsh to discourage interference. Respect your fellow
competitors to avoid the chance of interference penalties.




